Back to top

Alumni Class Notes


  • Donald Haines, ’39, ’47 MA of Wilmington, Ohio, celebrated his 95th birthday last September with family and friends. He remains an ardent Buckeye fan and has attended many football games, including six Rose Bowls.


  • Phyllis Morgan, ’61 of Albuquerque, N.M., received the Modern Language Association Prize for a Distinguished Bibliography for N. Scott Momaday: Remembering Ancestors, Earth and Traditions: An Annotated Bio-bibliography. She is a retired reference and research librarian, educator, and information specialist who writes nonfiction works related to the American Southwest.


  • Joanne Cunard Joanne Cunard, ’74 MA of West Hartford, Conn., who received the 2011 Celebrate Literacy Award from the International Reading Association, is professor of education at Saint Joseph College.
  • Jay Martin, ’73 MA, ’79 PhD of Powell, Ohio, completed his 35th season as head men’s soccer coach of Ohio Wesleyan University and won his 608th game as head coach, making him the all-time all-division NCAA leader in men’s soccer victories. He’s been named the NCAA Regional Coach of the Year 15 times.
  • Manuel Pacheco Manuel Pacheco, ’70 PhD of Phoenix, Ariz., is interim president of New Mexico State University. He served as interim president of the university in 2009 as well. Prior to that position, he served as the 17th president of the University of Arizona.
  • Cynthia Milarcik Maleski, ’72 of Tippecanoe, Ohio, has retired after teaching for 40 years at Trenton Avenue Elementary School in Uhrichsville, Ohio.


  • Tom Frigge, ’77, ’81 MS of Kaneohe, Hawaii, is owner of TOBE Co. Food Safety. He is a member of the Hawaii Environmental Health Association and the Hawaii Institute of Food Technologists.
  • Georgie Shockey Georgie Shockey, ‘80 of The Woodlands, Texas, won the FER’s first Management Excellence Award for the non-commercial operator segment of Ruck-Shockey Associates Inc.’s New Tower project at Ohio State’s Wexner Medical Center. The award recognizes excellence in the management of unit and facilities development, design, equipment and supplies purchasing and maintenance functions in commercial and noncommercial foodservice operations.
  • Robb Williams, ’82 of Laramie, Wyo., was named the National Athletic Trainers’ Association’s Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer of 2012. He is a staff athletic trainer at St. Rita’s Medical Center in Lima, Ohio.


  • Gil Fried, ’90 MA, ’90 JD of West Hartford, Conn., received the Sport Management Outstanding Achievement Award from the National Association for Sport and Physical Education. He is professor of management of sport industries at the University of New Haven.
  • Andrew Hann, ’92 of Columbus, is vice president of operations for Indus Hotels. He previously served as general manager of Hampton Inn and Suites.


  • Tina Thomas-ManningTina Thomas-Manning, ’90, ’93 MA of Gahanna, Ohio, is executive director of education for Reynoldsburg middle and junior high schools. She served as principal at Hannah Ashton Middle School and Waggoner Road Middle School. At Hannah Ashton, the school improved from a C to an A-plus on the state report card. Waggoner Road Middle School improved from a B to an A-plus under Thomas-Manning’s leadership, as well.


  • Vincent BrileyVincent Briley, ’00 of Davenport, Iowa, was awarded a Fulbright Scholar Grant to research higher education in Germany during the 2012-13 academic year. He is assistant dean of academic advising and testing at Scott Community College/ Eastern Iowa Community Colleges.
  • Katie HoekzemaKatie Hoekzema, ’01, ’02 MEd of Cincinnati, was selected as a 2012 Grosvenor Teacher Fellow by the National Geographic Society. She teaches biology and physical science at Milford High School. She also serves as the girls’ soccer junior varsity coach.
  • Matthew Lambert, ’02 MA of McLean, Va., is vice president of development at the College of William and Mary. He previously served as associate vice president of development at Georgetown University.
  • Barbara Mahaffey, ’09 PhD of Chillicothe, Ohio, was named an Education Hero by the First Capital District Chapter of the American Red Cross for her teaching and advocacy in the community. She is associate professor and coordinator of human services technology at Ohio University – Chillicothe.
  • Danielle Palus, ’08 of Lakewood, Ohio, is director of sales and marketing for Be Well Solutions, a physician-owned company that offers comprehensive wellness programs for organizations.


  • Briana Smith Napieracz, ’12 of Hilliard, Ohio, is licensing coordinator for family home centers for the Ohio Department of Education’s Office for Child Nutrition.